Pimiento Cheese

rrcelery.jpg

As long as we’re stuffing things into celery … Pimiento Cheese is right up there on my Comfort Food list with meatloaf and lemon chess pie. The celery seeds make the difference in this one. SAM

1/2 pound sharp Cheddar cheese, grated (2 cups)
1 small white onion, grated (1/3 cup)
1 (2-ounce) jar pimientos, drained and finely chopped
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 teaspoon celery seed
Freshly ground pepper to taste

In a medium bowl, combine the Cheddar, onion, pimientos, mayonnaise, celery seed, and pepper. Mix thoroughly. Serve on crackers, as a sandwich spread, or stuff into celery sticks.
Makes 2 1/2 cups.

5 Responses to Pimiento Cheese

  1. almostgotit says:

    Hello Sam,

    Oh, my goodness. Finally, a man who will appreciate your cooking…

    I’m embarrassed to say this is the first recipe for pimiento cheese I’ve ever seen. Actually, I’d never heard of the stuff until I moved out of Starbucks Land. Just in time for summer picnics, too. (I assume we’ll see a good recipe for meatloaf and one for the lemon chess pie eventually? And we were supposed to remind you about a buttermilk biscuit recipe, too.)

  2. rockyroadoflove says:

    Think so? At least he was buying goat’s cheese. But lots of guys buy goat’s cheese. I guess. I don’t know. Do they? I don’t know his name and I”ll probably never see him again. But … he made me laugh.

    If you’ve never seen a recipe for pimiento cheese, you need this one big time. I thought everybody knew about pimiento cheese. Yes, I’ll be posting meatloaf, soon, and lemon chess pie. Wish I had one right now. Buttermilk biscuits, also. Did I mention they’re made with real butter?

    Sam

  3. Stephen says:

    For a nice variation on “pimiento” cheese, try some of those canned pequillo peppers instead of pimiento. They give it a great smokey flavor, and they’re cheap as dirt, which is always a plus.

  4. rockyroadoflove says:

    I don’t know pequillo peppers. What are they? You can find them in regular grocery stores?

  5. Stephen says:

    You can. They’re mild, red sweet peppers, usually sold roasted, common in the Basque country and nearby southern France.

Leave a Reply

