Quesadillas

rrpansauceback.jpg

Promise me Quesadillas and I’ll follow you to any ballpark. SAM

1 (15-ounce package) flour tortillas (10 tortillas)
8 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (2 cups)
1/4 cup drained, pickled jalapeño pepper slices
1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more if needed
Salsa
Guacamole
Sour Cream

To make each quesadilla, spread 1/4 cup cheese and several pepper slices on one tortilla and top with another tortilla. In a heavy skillet over medium-high heat, heat the oil until hazy and sauté each quesadilla 3 or 4 minutes per side, pressing down with a large spoon or spatula until the cheese is melted. Add more oil if needed for additional quesadillas. Cut into wedges and top with salsa, Guacamole, and/or sour cream. Serve hot.
Makes 5 quesadillas.

2 Responses to Quesadillas

  1. lathanarasimhan says:

    Hi Emily,
    This dish sounds yummy. Since I have learnt to make tortillas I can try this one.

    Could’nt make flat bread as I was waiting for more information on wheat from you.

    Did you try the egg plant (Brinjal) recipes?

    I’ll get back to you on Quesadillas once I prepare them.

    Bye. latha.

  2. rockyroadoflove says:

    Hi Latha,

    I will make Brinjal today with my baby eggplant. I don’t have all the Indian ingredients, but I’ll come as close as I can. I’m really interested in the slow cooking. In French cuisine, cooking vegetables slowly over low heat, covered, in olive oil is called ‘sweating.’ It makes them soft and sweet. I sweat onions and green beans. Today, I’ll sweat eggplant.

    As for the flatbread flour, it’s not the coarse or fine grind that makes the different—it’s the wheat. Hard wheat is durum wheat. The center of the grain is called ‘semolina.’ It grows in cool climates. Italian pasta and North African couscous are made with hard-wheat flour. Soft wheat grows in hotter climates. Soft-wheat flour is used for biscuits and cakes. Try the flatbread with the flour you have and see what happens. If your wheat is soft, the flatbread will be dense like an English water cracker. It will taste good, but I prefer the texture of hard-wheat flour.

    Thanks so much for all your comments.

    PS I’m still trying to find fenugreek.

Leave a Reply

