Sun Tea

rrcloveone.jpg

There are households in sunny climes where sun tea is a summer ritual. Set out your jar in the morning, and you’ll have fresh tea by lunchtime. Make it plain or spicy. Double or halve the recipe. However you make it, it couldn’t be simpler. You don’t even have to boil the water. SAM

1 gallon cold water
9 small tea bags
6 whole cloves (optional)
1 stick cinnamon (optional)

Pour the water into a clear, 1-gallon glass jar, add the tea bags, and the cloves and cinnamon, if desired. Screw on a tight-fitting lid and place the jar in direct sunlight. After 3 to 4 hours, remove the tea bags and spices and serve over ice with sugar, mint, or lemon.
Makes 1 gallon.

5 Responses to Sun Tea

  1. lathanarasimhan says:

    Nice recipe. I dont like if the tea is boiled for long. May be I can add lime juice to this preparation.

    By the way I have changed my blog look. please post your valuable opinion on the new look.
    thanks.

    latha.

  2. Stephen says:

    In the South, you have to have the sugar in there while the tea is steeping, or it ain’t “sweet tea,” and you can tell when you drink it. I’ve never tried it with sun tea, but you’ve inspired me to. I’ll do that just as soon as the sun comes out again, if it ever does. It’s been raining here for three days.

    I wonder if there’s a way to make “rain tea?”

  3. rockyroadoflove says:

    I don’t know if sugar will steep in sun tea. Try it and let me know. I’m sure there are people particular enough about their tea that they could tell the difference between sun tea and boiled, steeped tea. But to my taste—and I (gasp!) don’t drink sweet tea—sun tea is better.

  4. Almostgotit says:

    In the pacific northwest where I came from, iced tea comes in a jar of powdered stuff (with or without lemon flavoring added). We did make sun tea sometimes, but most of us didn’t add any sugar. The problem with adding sugar to cold tea or sun tea is, of course, that it doesn’t dissolve properly. The solution might be to make a sugar syrup separately or add some commercially-made liquid sweetener(?) I agree with Sam though about the good taste of sun tea. The slow brewing brings out more flavors, in which case even a southerner might be willing to venture TRYING it straight-up…

  5. rockyroadoflove says:

    I used to like canned lemon tea from soft-drink machines. Now, I make sweet orange tea in the microwave—cover the mug with the teabag and water inside, microwave for 2 minutes, let steep for 5 minutes. I will admit, though, that orange tea is better made with boiling water. I’ve never tried herbal tea in the sun. Maybe tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

