Cocoa Drops

rrnutmeg.jpg

Spicy chocolate cookies on a warm summer day … now that would perk up anyone! The fresh nutmeg makes these little treats a delight. Grate a little into the batter—you won’t want much. But whatever you do, USE WHOLE NUTMEG—NOT GROUND! It’s vile. SAM

1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1 egg
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
2 or 3 gratings of whole nutmeg
1 cup raisins
Confectioner’s sugar

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the condensed milk, egg, butter, and vanilla. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the flour, cocoa, baking powder, ginger, and nutmeg. On medium speed, add the milk mixture, beating until blended. Beat 1 additional minute at high speed. Stir in the raisins by hand. Cover and chill for 1 hour. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Drop the batter by teaspoonfuls onto lightly greased baking sheets. Bake 6 to 8 minutes or until set. Cool for 1 minute, sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar, and remove to a wire rack to cool completely.
Makes 4 dozen cookies.

3 Responses to Cocoa Drops

  1. Hi emily,
    Today it is my sons birthday and I have prepared the apple raisin cake. I have taken photographs of the cake. If it is ok with you I thought I’ll link your recipe to my blog., like I linked archana’s zuchini.

    The cake is so yummy! The Cocoadrops look good. Next I’ll maka this. Thanks for these recipes.
    bye. latha.

  2. rockyroadoflove says:

    What an honor for my Apple-Raisin Cake to be your son’s birthday cake! Yes, please link the recipe to The ‘yum’ blog. Can you post photos? I could put a link to your blog in the introduction to the cake. The Cocoa Drops are good, also. The recipe calls for ground ginger, but I was wondering this morning if I could make them with fresh, grated ginger. What do you think?

  3. Thanks emily I’ll link the recipe to my blog. I have not done the icing,still I’ll post the photographs by monday as I need my daughter’s help to post them.

    I think fresh ginger will give a good flavour for the cookies.

    Emily please do see the masaladosa slides next when you visit my blog. You will like them as you’ll be tempted to make this famous southindian dish.

Leave a Reply

