Marinated Cucumbers in Sour Cream

rrcucumbersmarket.jpg

Soaking cucumbers and onions in salted ice water makes them crisp enough to pop. Then the oil and vinegar marinade pickles them slightly. I could eat the entire bowl, even before I add the sour cream! SAM

3 medium cucumbers, scored or peeled and thinly sliced
1 medium onion, thinly sliced with rings separated
Salt
Ice water
1 cup olive oil
1 cup cider vinegar
1 (8-ounce) carton sour cream
Freshly ground black pepper to taste
Sweet paprika

In a large salad bowl, alternate layers of cucumbers and onion, sprinkling each layer with salt. Cover with ice water and refrigerate for 2 to 3 hours. Drain the cucumbers and onion, rinse thoroughly under running water, drain again, and pat dry. Return to the bowl and cover with oil and vinegar. Refrigerate for 2 to 3 hours more. Drain the cucumbers and onions again. Return to the bowl and stir in the sour cream and pepper. Sprinkle with paprika.
Makes 8 servings.

7 Responses to Marinated Cucumbers in Sour Cream

  1. […] continues at rockyroadoflove brought to you by diet.medtrials.info and […]

  2. Hi emily,
    Jaggery is unrefined sugar rich in minerals, especially iron. It is called panela in Mexico and South America. I got this information in Google.

    Marinated cucumbers are new to me. In chennai I saw some salad bowls and lakshmi and I were telling may be Emily uses this kind of bowls.

  3. This sounds very good and I’m glad to find this recipe and I’m going to give it a try! I think I have seen it served before as well…yum.

  4. rockyroadoflove says:

    Hi Judi,

    It’s an old Southern way of crisping cucumbers. Salted ice water does wonders with them. Then the marinade and the sour cream make them irresistible. I know you can’t live on cucumbers and onions but … it’s tempting.

  5. jolynna says:

    I posted a recipe for sour cream cucumbers too. But, I think after reading your recipe that mine would be improved by the salted ice water soaking which would have made my cucumbers crisper.

    Would you mind if I updated my recipe by saying you had a method which I think would make my cucumbers even better and giving my readers a link to your site?

    Let me know. Thanks.

  6. jolynna says:

    Thanks for your help. I’ve included a link to this site at the end of my post. I very much appreciate your input!

  7. dieta dukan says:

    dieta dukan…

    […]Marinated Cucumbers in Sour Cream « The Rocky Road of Love and Other Great Recipes[…]…

Leave a Reply

