COOKING TIP: Cheese Substitutions

If you don’t have access to goat’s cheese or feta, substitute what you do have. Cream is a good trade for melted goat’s cheese in casseroles. You need something liquid so the custard will set properly. For the feta, substitute grated mozzarella or paneer or any tasty hard cheese.

2 Responses to COOKING TIP: Cheese Substitutions

  1. lakshmi says:

    this is very useful. fresh cream is available all the time 🙂

    Thanks. All good cooks change recipes and make substitutions when necessary. The Rocky Road has readers from so many countries and cultures, I’m trying to be more creative with choices of ingredients. I can’t, alas, get many of your wonderful-sounding spices and peppers. But I try to come as close to the spirit of your South Indian recipes as I can.

  2. This is really helpful. Making an extra trip to the store is so often just not in the cards, and while I’m always willing to wing it with most recipes, it’s good to know a little bit more about what I’m doing. Bleh on a custard that doesn’t set because I use the wrong cheese, for instance…!!

    Keep it up! These tips are just another wonderful thing about reading your blog!

    Desserts—cakes and custards and cookies—are just about the only recipes I follow to the letter. Otherwise, whatever is in my fridge and cabinet is what goes into a gratin or soup or pizza or bread. I made the Watermelon Gazpacho without celery because I didn’t want to go to the store, and now I think it’s better without celery!

    Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

