Real Lemon Pie

Just because it’s easy doesn’t mean it’s not great! And, yes, you use the whole lemon, rind and all. SAM

3 eggs
1 large lemon, unpeeled, seeded, and quartered
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Dash of salt
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 9-inch prepared pastry shell,, unbaked

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a blender or food processor, combine the eggs, lemon, sugar, lemon juice, vanilla extract, and salt. Process until smooth. Add the butter and process 5 seconds longer. Pour into the prepared pastry shell and bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Cool on a wire rack. Serve with vanilla ice cream.
Makes 8 servings.

Adapted from Emily’s cookbook All-American Comfort Food.

4 Responses to Real Lemon Pie

  1. Almostgotit says:

    Oh, YUM! I love the idea of using the lemon, zest and all, and of not having to cook the filling ahead of time. (which turns funny colors if you use the wrong kind of pan, too. Interesting science experiment in the use of acids, I suppose…)

    Only you would spot the acidic component. Yes, I think this is why this pie works–that and the mega kick of the whole lemon. I never thought about it that way. You certainly don’t lose the lemon color. And what’s better than lemon and sugar and cream?

  2. Almostgotit says:

    Lemon pie happens to be THE family recipe I based my one and only book upon, and that’s how I found out about its turning green sometimes. But we were never smart enough to use the zest, too.

    You wrote a lemon pie book? How come I don’t know that? How come I don’t have it? I’ll bet you could make this pie with limes, also. Key limes would be great. I’ll have to try it.

  3. raffaella says:

    Hello,
    I need your help. 😉

    Why is it called “real lemon pie”?
    Because you use a real lemon?
    I’m translating a cookbook and I was wondering if “real” was referring to the pie or to the lemon.
    Thank you in advance.
    Regards.
    Raffaella

Leave a Reply

